Executive Committee


  • Varsha Gharpure, MD, FAAP, FCCM
  • Pediatric Intensivist
  • Advocate Children’s hospital, Park Ridge, IL
  • Clinical Associate Professor, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science,
    North Chicago, IL


  • Candice White, MSN, APRN, AGCNS-BC
  • Advance Practice Nurse,
  • Structural Heart, Cardiothoracic surgery, Cardiology
  • UnityPoint Methodist Hospital, IL

Immediate Past President

  • Girish Deshpande, MD, FAAP, FCCM
  • Professor of Clinical Pediatrics,
  • Critical Care Medicine, Department of Pediatrics
  • University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria
  • Pediatric Intensivist, Children’s Hospital of Illinois, Peoria, IL


  • Kristen Nelson McMillan, MD
  • Associate Professor
  • Pediatric Cardiac Critical Care
  • Pediatric pulmonary Hypertension, Advanced Heart Failure
  • Director, Pediatric Ventricular Assist Device program
  • Advocate Children’s Hospital
  • University of Chicago Comer Children’s Hospital


  • Rajat Kapoor, MD, MBA
  • Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine
  • Department of Medicine,
  • Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Allergy Medicine
  • Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Indianapolis, Indiana